Writing Awards Database

The database includes major entertainment industry awards, given annually for writing of screenplays, teleplays, radio works, and new media. The awarding institutions typically maintain their own complete awards histories online, but do not combine awards reportage for titles, writers, and honors across other organizations.

Quick Search by Writer or Title

First Name

Last Name
Script / Episode Title:
TV Show Name:
More Search Options

The database includes complete records for each institution’s awards since the beginning of their history, except where noted. Some are still in development. Both nominees and winners are tracked, and the WGA’s correct and complete credits language is used, including mention of source material writers.

Inclusion of a title in the awards database does not guarantee that the library also has a copy of that script. We continue to seek and collect scripts with writing award status.

  • Search by writer name, title, awarding institution, year awarded (not year of production), or award category.
  • A program title or single episode title may be searched.
  • Subjects, genres, networks and production companies cannot be searched.
  • Misspellings will yield no results.
  • Writers with awards have their names in bold. Source material writers or credited writers not sharing in the award are not bold. Organizations sometimes differ about which writers of a single title actually share in the award.
  • Many award categories of past years are now obsolete. Categories have been conflated where possible.

Academy Awards: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences began the Oscars in 1929, and currently there are two screenplay categories, and in years past there have been several other story categories.

Cable Ace Awards: Launched as the Ace Awards in 1978 by the National Cable Television Association; award renamed Cable Ace in 1992. Television writing awards began at 5th annual in 1983. Ceremony in 1984 (6th annual) not broadcast until January 1985; no award ceremony in 1986; awards for 1994 presented January 1995 (16th annual), and awards for 1995 presented December 1995 (17th annual). Ceased in 1997.

Emmy Awards: Founded in 1949 by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, with television writing honors commencing at the 7th annual awards in 1955. Currently there are 6 writing categories, and many category changes throughout its history

Golden Globes: Established by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in 1944, with a single screenplay category commencing at the 5th annual in 1948.

Humanitas Prize: Initiated in 1975 by the Humanitas Prize to recognize screen and television writing excellence

Independent Spirit Awards (incomplete; in development): Founded in 1984 by the Independent Feature Project/West (name changed to Film Independent in 2005) to honor achievements in independent filmmaking. Best Screenplay category awarded since 1st annual in 1985, and Best First Screenplay awarded since 10th annual, in 1995.

PEN USA Awards (incomplete; in development): Given since 1982 by the Poets, Essayists and Novelists PEN Center USA, with writing being honored since the beginning in screenplay and teleplay categories.

WGA Awards Given annually by the Writers Guild of America (East and West) since 1949, in a number of screenplay, teleplay, radio, and recently, new media and videogame categories.