Writers Guild Foundation elects 2014-15 directors, appoints Oscar-nominated writer Robert Nelson Jacobs president

July 29, 2014

LOS ANGELES, JULY 28 – Robert Nelson Jacobs, the Academy Award-nominated writer of CHOCOLAT, has been elected the new president of the Writers Guild Foundation’s Board of Directors. The board also elected three of its 22 incumbents to its executive committee, and added nine new directors to its ranks.

Jacobs, whose CHOCOLAT script was nominated for Best Adapted Screenplay in 2000, is currently adapting the memoir HOW STARBUCKS SAVED MY LIFE for The Weinstein Company, among other projects. He has served on the Writers Guild Foundation board for seven years.

In addition to Jacobs as President, the Board also elected Georgia Jeffries its Vice President; Ligiah Villalobos its Secretary; and Elias Davis its Treasurer.

The Board also elected nine new directors with a broad range of professional backgrounds.

The new directors include:

  • Laurence Andries, writer and producer known for ALIAS, SIX FEET UNDER and SUPERNATURAL;
  • Alfredo Barrios, writer and producer known for BURN NOTICE, JUSTICE and LAW & ORDER;
  • Louis Black, co-founder of the South By Southwest festival of film, music and interactive media and co-founder and editor of the Austin Chronicle;
  • Neil Druckmann, writer and video game designer known for THE LAST OF US;
  • Terri Edda Miller, writer and co-creator of CASTLE;
  • Minyon Moore, political strategist and public affairs consultant, founder of the public affairs and advertising firm The Dewey Square Group;
  • Veena Sud, television writer and developer of THE KILLING;
  • Pam Veasey, writer and producer known for IN LIVING COLOR and CSI: NY;
  • Sally Wilcox, agent in the Motion Picture Literary Department at Creative Artists Agency.

They join the following incumbent board members Neal Baer, Craig Bankey, Barbara Benedek, Allan Burns, Elias Davis, Seth Freeman, Lowell Ganz, Charlie Hauck, Georgia Jeffries, Bill Lawrence, Peter Lefcourt, Andrew Marlowe, Jan Oxenberg, Shonda Rhimes, David Shore, Holly Goldberg Sloan, Ligiah Villalobos, Matthew Weiner, Alan Wertheimer, Larry Wilmore and John Sacret Young.

Jacobs praised the new members, and the new executive committee, as indicators of a bright future.

“As the craft of writing for the screen changes with shifting audiences and developing technology, it’s vital that our board keep pace,” he said. “This board appreciates the value of promoting and preserving that craft, and has the collective wisdom and experiences to help the Foundation maintain its vision moving foward.”

WGF Executive Director Katie Buckland agreed, citing the value of a strong board.

“I’m looking forward to working with these new directors – in fact, I’m thrilled,” she said. “The Foundation’s mission of promoting and preserving the craft of film and television writing is in good hands. Under the guidance of this fantastic array of brilliant, creative professionals, we’re sure to thrive.”